Mother, Daughter and Childs Daughter

Women and Newborn Health Service

Services A – Z

Home » services » SOSU » Pilbara » Hedland Health Campus

King Edward Memorial Hospital

Statewide Obstetric Support Unit

Hedland Health Campus

Hedland Health Campus

Contact Us
Models of Care
Maternity and Neonatal Services
There were 371 deliveries in the 2016/2017 financial year at Hedland Health Campus. 29% of these were to Indigenous women.

The maternity unit has 2 delivery suite rooms and 8 obstetric beds. It caters for low and medium risk deliveries.

Regional Director:
Colebatch Way
South Hedland WA 6722
Telephone 08 9174 1794
Facsimile 08 9174 1472

Area Director of Nursing:
Millstream Road
Karratha WA 6714

Telephone 08 9143 2440
Facsimile 08

Postal Address
PMB 12
South Hedland WA 6722

Contact Us

Phone 08 9158 1666 
Fax 08 9158 1475 
Person in Charge Mr Phillip Harnas, Director of Nursing and Midwifery 
Location Colebatch Way
South Hedland WA 6722 
Postal Address RMB 12
South Hedland WA 6722 
Maternity Unit Contact Ms Tarnyia Morawski, Clinical Nurse Manager 

To Top

Models of Care

  • Shared Care Antenatal

To Top

Maternity and Neonatal Services

low-medium risk deliveries
specialist clinics: diabetic, high risk medical, DMO medical clinics, midwife clinics
immersion in water for the 1st and 2nd stage of labour
emergency caesarean sections
elective caesarean sections
planned VBAC
24 hour per day epidural service
electronic fetal heart monitoring
induction of labour, including the use of Prostagolandin gel and Foley's and Cook catheters
Neonatal Unit Level 4 (2 costs)
ultrasound (full scanning services including FT; public; new service recently started after closure private radiology practice in Karratha; obstetric staff can also perform informal scans)
Women are visited by the Community Health Nurse
Fetal fibronectin testing
blood transfusion services
fetal scalop blood gas analysis
parent education classes
child health nurse
social work services
mental health services

To Top







All contents copyright © Government of Western Australia. All rights reserved